Skip to content

WHO ARE WE?

The Salesians are a religious Congregation of priests and brothers founded by Saint John Bosco in 1859. They were named after Francis de Sales, the saintly bishop of Geneva renowned for his kindness and meekness. We are present in 128 different countries, with 16,560 members.

Notre fondateur est saint Jean BoscoOUR FOUNDER DON BOSCO

Our Founder is Saint John Bosco, better known as Don Bosco (Don is the Italian for Father). He lived in Turin, in the North of Italy at the time of the Industrial Revolution. Even before becoming a priest, he used to gather poor and abandoned boys from the streets, educating them to becoming “good Christians and honest citizens”. He used to say: Education is a matter of the heart.”

WITH AND FOR THE YOUNG

In the footsteps of our founder, we, the Salesians of Don Bosco (S.D.B.), work preferably among the young as educators. Our educational practice rests on three pillars, inherited from Don Bosco: reason, religion and loving kindness. The foundation of that system wants to be a sympathetic understanding of the young and an active presence among them, helping them to grow.

Skip to content

QUI SOMMES-NOUS?

Les salésiens (s.d.b.) sont une congrégation religieuse de prêtres et de frères fondée par saint Jean Bosco en 1859. Le fondateur les a nommés d’après saint François de Sales, l’évêque de Genève, reconnu pour sa bonté et sa douceur. Au nombre de 16 560, nous sommes présents dans 128 différents pays

Notre fondateur est saint Jean BoscoNOTRE FONDATEUR DON BOSCO

Notre fondateur est saint Jean Bosco, mieux connu sous le nom de Don Bosco (l’italien pour Abbé Bosco). Il vécut à Turin, au nord de l’Italie, au temps de la révolution industrielle. Même avant de devenir prêtre, il rassemblait les jeunes de la rue pour en faire « de bons chrétiens et d’honnêtes citoyens. ». Il disait : « L’éducation est une affaire du cœur ».

AU SERVICE DES JEUNES

À la suite de leur fondateur, les salésiens privilégient la présence auprès des jeunes comme éducateurs. Leur pratique éducative s’appuie sur trois piliers, héritage de Don Bosco :raison, religion, bonté affectueuse. La base de ce système veut être une compréhension sympathique des jeunes et une présence active auprès d’eux, les aidant à grandir.